Experience the difference of "Elite".

Integration with Nexia / Trane Home

Monica K
Apr 28, 2021 10:58 PM
Joined Apr, 2021 1 post

Hi! I'm new to OR and would like to have OR program my door locks and email out the codes to guests. BUT I would also like the smart home system I use to do provide text and email notifications of events from those locks, but I am struggling to find an option that works with OR.

Currently, I use Nexia to program my Schlage remote locks, and I LOVE that it sends me emails AND texts when the doors are locked and unlocked, with which code was used, and also when doors are left open for 15 minutes (using the door sensors), etc. I have caught mistakes like cleaners not going in on days when they have same-day-turnovers, or maintenance guys not going in when they have to fix something, a door that blew open from not being latched, or guests that open doors 400x in one night - catching an unauthorized party, etc. Sadly, Nexia is not currently integrated with OR (please, please do so - it's the best and only $9.99/month!).

I can't figure out what to do to get both functions I would like. RemoteLock wants $27/month for 3 locks at just one property (I have 3 homes) and doesn't seem to email or text any event notifications at all (it says even within their online system, if I was to log in and check it, that their event log is only updated once an hour, so it can have a significant lag). Schlage's own native app will do a notification when the door is unlocked, but it only stays up on my phone for 2 seconds, so if you aren't holding your phone you never see it (yes, you can log in and check, but I like being notified when events happen that I am not expecting - so I'd really prefer the text/email notifications). I use the Schlage Encode with the native app for my personal residence where I am not concerned about getting notifications, just too lazy to carry keys.